Colorado minimum wage will go up to $7.64 in January
Following a Colorado Department of Labor and Employment hearing today, the state minimum wage rate will increase from $7.36 to $7.64 an hour on January 1, 2012. The increase is directed by Amendment 42, a constitutional amendment passed by Colorado voters in 2006 that provides annual cost of living adjustments to the minimum wage. The minimum wage rate for Colorado’s tipped workers will increase from $4.34 to $4.62 an hour.
Someone working 40 hours a week for 50 weeks a year will earn $15,280 a year if working for Colorado’s new minimum wage.
“This is great news for the Colorado economy, workers and families,” said Linda Meric, 9to5 National Association of Working Women executive director. “A full-time minimum wage worker will take home an additional $582 next year to spend locally on basic necessities, which will help advance Colorado’s economic recovery,” she said in a press release.
“Wages are falling as a result of staggering unemployment, slow job creation, and declining unionization,” said Christine Owens, National Employment Law Project executive director. “These modest annual minimum wage increases are one of the few policies that counteract declining wage trends and prevent America’s lowest-paid workers from falling even further behind.”
Like this story? Steal it! Feel free to republish it in part or in full, just please give credit to The Colorado Independent and add a link to the original.
SIGN UP FOR OUR WEEKLY NEWSLETTER
The Colorado Criminal Defense Bar (CCDB) and the Community College of Denver (CCD) Paralegal Program are holding a public debate for the candidates seeking the position […]Read More
A state judge in Colorado ruled late Monday that El Paso County Sheriff Bill Elder’s agreement with federal immigration authorities to hold individuals in his […]Read More