Three No’s From Colorado on Clean Drinking Water

Let’s visit Washington D.C. where our Colorado Republican Congressional delegation of Marilyn Musgrave, Tom Tancredo and Doug Lamborn make the weighty decisions for the rest of us. Thank goodness, most of the time they are outvoted by the Democratic side of Mark Udall, John Salazar, Ed Perlmutter and Diana DeGette.For instance, wouldn’t you back the proposal to provide grant monies to cities that want to diversify their drinking water resources? Especially in drought prone areas where these three illustrious statesmen happen to represent, wouldn’t it make sense to encourage municipalities to pursue waste-water reclamation (HR 700) or upgrade city sewage systems (HR569) that combine wastewater and storm runoff in the same conduits?

“Well, heck, yes!” you would offer.

“Well, hell, no!” said the three Republican teammates.

In a bi-partisan vote, 368 Congressmen supported HR 700; only 59 Republicans voted against it. The vote on HR569 was similar. In the front line of negativity were Musgrave, Tancredo and Lamborn.

In Colorado lately, you have read and heard a lot about renewable energy. Governor Bill Ritter would like to make Colorado the leading state in the nation to pursue energy self-sufficiency. Sounds good, heh? Wouldn’t it be great to have a special Congressional committee created (HR202) to study energy independence and global warming, too?

The Colorado Democratic Congressmen thought so as did the majority. The Republican trio of M-T-L did not.

Bad water and hot air. Sounds like the M-T-L team is listening to the White House instead of us.

Like this story? Steal it! Feel free to republish it in part or in full, just please give credit to The Colorado Independent and add a link to the original.

Got a tip? Story pitch? Send us an e-mail. Follow The Colorado Independent on Twitter.

About the Author

Leslie Robinson

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>