One green candidate narrowly lands on Holy Cross Energy board

Adam Palmer, the environmental policy planner for Eagle County and a former environmental director for Vail Resorts, narrowly won a seat on the hotly contested board of directions of Glenwood Springs-based Holy Cross Energy.

Palmer beat out longtime board member and Vail Realtor George Lamb by a margin of 1,643 votes to 1,613. Holy Cross Energy is rural electric co-op with more than 43,000 members between Vail and Aspen. The battle for its board is part of a trend in recent years, with green candidates challenging longtime incumbents in order to promote more conservation and sources of renewable energy.

President of the board Tom Turnbull, a Carbondale rancher, won re-election over Glenwood Springs pool and spa purveyor Marshall Foote by a margin of 1,847 votes to 1,284 despite comments Turnbull made in the Holy Cross newsletter about warmer climates actually benefiting civilizations.

Auden Schendler, Aspen Skiing Company’s executive director for sustainability, took exception to that statement and endorsed Palmer and Foote for the board, alarming some Vail-area Realtors who accused special interests from Aspen of trying to take over the co-op board and jack up electric rates.

With Palmer joining three other renewable energy advocates on the seven-member board, green board members now have a majority.

Like this story? Steal it! Feel free to republish it in part or in full, just please give credit to The Colorado Independent and add a link to the original.

Got a tip? Story pitch? Send us an e-mail. Follow The Colorado Independent on Twitter.

About the Author

David O. Williams

is an award-winning reporter who has covered energy, environmental and political issues for years. His work has appeared in the New York Times, Chicago Tribune and Denver Post. He's founder of Real Vail
and Real Aspen.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>