League of Conservation Voters names Buck to 2010 ‘Dirty Dozen’ list

The League of Conservation Voters (LCV) today added Republican U.S. Senate candidate Ken Buck to its 2010 “Dirty Dozen” list of politicians and candidates “who consistently vote against clean energy and conservation and are running in races in which LCV has a serious chance to affect the outcome.”

Buck is running against incumbent Democrat Michael Bennet.

“Ken Buck has been parroting the lies and misinformation of corporate polluters and as Senator would side with Big Oil over Colorado families at every opportunity,” Tony Massaro, LCV Senior Vice President for Political Affairs, said in a release. “His extremist views on climate change put him far outside the mainstream, while his support for the failed energy polices of the past make him unfit for the U.S. Senate.”

LCV points to a new video at www.flatearth.tv that highlights the “extreme views” of Buck and other Republican Senate candidates.

LCV claims that since 1996 more than 60 percent of its annual “Dirty Dozen” have been defeated in elections. This year’s list includes Senate candidates Blanche Lincoln, D-Ark., Roy Blunt, R-Mo.,, Pat Toomey, R-Pa., and Carly Fiorina, R-Calif., and House candidates Michelle Bachmann, R- Minn., Tim Walberg, R-Mich., and Steve Pearce, R-N.M.

Like this story? Steal it! Feel free to republish it in part or in full, just please give credit to The Colorado Independent and add a link to the original.

Got a tip? Story pitch? Send us an e-mail. Follow The Colorado Independent on Twitter.

About the Author

David O. Williams

is an award-winning reporter who has covered energy, environmental and political issues for years. His work has appeared in the New York Times, Chicago Tribune and Denver Post. He's founder of Real Vail
and Real Aspen.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>