Morse wins in tight Colorado Springs district Senate race

With all the votes finally counted, State Senate Majority Leader John Morse, D-Colorado Springs, has officially retained his seat, according to data provided by the El Paso County Clerk and Recorder’s office.

The final vote tally was 13,866 for Morse and 13,526 for Republican Owen Hill notching a margin of 48.29 percent to 47.11 percent. There will be no automatic recall. Democrats will control the Senate by 20 to 15 margin.

All ballots in Colorado must be certified and counted by Friday.

Colorado Pols has reported that Hill conceded Wednesday morning Tuesday night.

Like this story? Steal it! Feel free to republish it in part or in full, just please give credit to The Colorado Independent and add a link to the original.

Got a tip? Story pitch? Send us an e-mail. Follow The Colorado Independent on Twitter.

About the Author

Scot Kersgaard

Scot Kersgaard has been managing editor of a political newspaper, editor and co-owner of a ski town newspaper, executive editor of eight high-tech magazines (where he worked with current Apple CEO Tim Cook), deputy press secretary to a U.S. Senator, and an outdoors columnist at the Rocky Mountain News. He has an English degree from the University of Washington. He was awarded a fellowship to study internet journalism at the University of Maryland's Knight Center for Specialized Journalism. He was student body president in college. He spends his free time hiking and skiing.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>