Hickenlooper makes water compact appointments

Gov. John Hickenlooper announced today appointments to the Interbasin Compact Committee (IBCC).

The governor’s office said the Interbasin Compact Committee is charged with the development of a negotiation framework and foundational principles to guide voluntary negotiations between basin roundtables, the facilitation of continuing discussions within and between basins on water management issues, and to encourage locally driven collaborative solutions to water supply challenges.

The members will serve effective March 3, 2011. The members appointed are:

· Richard Eric Kuhn, Glenwood Springs (D)

· Taylor E.C. Hawes, Lafayette (U)

· Wayne Vanderschuere, Colorado Springs (U)

· Melinda R. Kassen, Boulder (D)

· T. Wright Dickinson, Maybell (R)

· Peter D. Nichols, Carbondale (D)

Like this story? Steal it! Feel free to republish it in part or in full, just please give credit to The Colorado Independent and add a link to the original.

Got a tip? Story pitch? Send us an e-mail. Follow The Colorado Independent on Twitter.

About the Author

Scot Kersgaard

Scot Kersgaard has been managing editor of a political newspaper, editor and co-owner of a ski town newspaper, executive editor of eight high-tech magazines (where he worked with current Apple CEO Tim Cook), deputy press secretary to a U.S. Senator, and an outdoors columnist at the Rocky Mountain News. He has an English degree from the University of Washington. He was awarded a fellowship to study internet journalism at the University of Maryland's Knight Center for Specialized Journalism. He was student body president in college. He spends his free time hiking and skiing.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>