Colorado is about to get tougher on those of you (us) who text while driving.

Gov. John Hickenlooper today is signing a bill to ramp up the penalties for this most odious of behaviors.

Under the new law, which goes into effect the moment the governor signs it, scheduled for 1 p.m. today, the prohibition against texting while driving will now apply to everyone, not just those aged 18 or under, which was the previous law.

The penalties? Up to 4 points on the license and up to a $300 fine. Ouch!

It could have been worse: the bill originally sought a $500 fine but its sponsor, Sen. Lois Court, a Denver Democrat, was advised by majority Senate Republicans that $500 was a little too much, and she agreed to lower it.

Y’all behave now.

Photo courtesy Colorado Department of Transportation

has been a political journalist since 1998. She covered the state capitol for the Silver & Gold Record from 1998 to 2009 and for The Colorado Statesman in 2010-11 and 2013-14. Since 2010 she also has covered the General Assembly for newspapers in northeastern Colorado. She was recognized with awards from the Colorado Press Association for feature writing and informational graphics for her work with the Statesman in 2012.