Denver Runoff Election Four Weeks Away

Four weeks from today the staff at the Denver Election Commission will once again be counting ballots, for the runoff election.  This time, though, there will only be three Denver City Council districts to count: Districts 3, 7, and 8.

After the jump, we list the candidates in each race, along with a link to the video interview (if we were able to conduct one) with each candidate.

The runoff election will be conducted basically the same way as the May 1 Election – entirely by mail-in ballot.  There will be significant changes, though, to the ballot drop off locations (See the announcement from the DEC after the jump).

Additionally, the postage rates are set to change on May 14.  Depending on the weight of the ballot, the postage cost will be either 41 cents or 58 cents, rather than the 63 cents required for the May 1 ballot.

The voter registration deadline for the runoff has already passed.  That was last Thursday, May 3.Candidates in runoff (click candidate name to see post with video interview)

District 3:
Paul D. Lopez
JoAnn Phillips (No interview conducted)

District 7:
Shelly Watters
Chris Nevitt

District 8:
Carla Madison
Sharon Bailey (No interview conducted)

Release from DEC on ballot drop off locations:

The following drop-off locations will also be available from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, May 29 through Friday, June 1, and again on Monday, June 4 from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.:

District 3:

Barnum Recreation Center, 360 Hooker St.
Schenck School, 1300 S. Lowell Blvd.

District 7

College View Recreation Center, 2525 S. Decatur St.
Porter Place, 1001 E. Yale Ave.

District 8

Glenarm Recreation Center, 2800 Glenarm Place
New Hope Baptist Church, 3701 Colorado Blvd.

The DEC headquarters located at 303 W. Colfax Ave. will also be available for ballot drop-off during regular business hours before Memorial Day and then from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, May 29 through Friday, June 1 and again on Monday, June 4 from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The DEC will also have curbside drop-off on the West side of Court Place between Colfax and 14th St. from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, Tuesday, June 5.