2018 Who’s funding Donna Lynne’s campaign?

Updated using June 18 campaign finance report

Contributions to campaign*: $1,071,183. Includes $161,150 Lynne has given her own campaign, which is 15 percent of the total contributions.

Balance minuses expenses: $114,679

Contributions to independent expenditure committee on behalf of candidate: n/a

General donor profile

Total raised from large contributors ($1,000 to the maximum allowable $1,150): $462,376  or 43 percent of total raised.  This does not include individual contributions made over time that equal more than $1,000.

 She received $240,529 from individuals outside of Colorado, or 22 percent of her campaign contributions.

Among Lynne’s larger donors are Vail Resort executives Beth Ganz, Rob Katz, Kirsten Lynch and David Shapiro; Thomas Jorden, chairman, chief executive and president of Cimarex Energy Co., and Navin and Rita Dimond of Cherry Hills. Navin is president and CEO of the Denver-based hotel development and hospitality management company, Stonebridge Companies.

Top three sectors associated with donors:

Healthcare: about 350 donors, totaling $145,889

General Business: about 175 donors, totaling $83,285

Attorney/Legal: about 150 donors, totaling $82,721

Companies with greatest number of donors and/or donations:

The State of Colorado: $27,425

Kaiser Permanente/Kaiser Foundation Health Plan: $23,150

Innovage: $10,450

*Data compiled by Heather Sackett and Shannon Mullane from June 18, 2018 campaign disclosure statements, which cover May 31 through June 13 and are the most recent candidate filings with the Colorado Secretary of State. The next filing deadline is July 2. 

The research on the donations to the major candidates for governor of Colorado from both parties was conducted by graduate students in the precision journalism class at the University of Colorado at Boulder. The instructor is Burt Hubbard, former database reporter for the Rocky Mountain News, Denver Post and Rocky Mountain PBS. The students providing the research are: Giselle Cesin, Amanda Clark, Crystal Eilerman, Joseph Getty, Anne Henning, Rey-Lynn Little, Shannon Mullane, Heather Sackett and Jentry Womack.

Photo courtesy of the Lynne campaign